Stoopid Sheep

baaaah

Jet lag sinking in

leave a comment »

I couldn’t sleep all last night so I just decided I was going to read in bed. I did sleep some time between the hours of 1 and 3 in the morning, or so I think, because I was so oblivious as to what happened at such time. I also slept for an hour around noon when I had already woken up.

In other news, I have approximately 24 minutes’ worth of new songs on my tape machine. Casio drum machine + Ensoniq synth + Tascam 4-track tape recorder + some knowledge of musical theory + mediocre keyboard playing = hours of bedroom recording. One is straight-up dancey (without the breakbeat hi-hat that I hate), but with some Aphex Twin-esque modulations in the background. In some places I double-tracked the melody for a really cool effect. I think Ensoniqs detune just a little. The second one is really, really slow (figure, say, half as fast as the other?), and keeps changing keys. F-major, G-major, and D-major are the main three, but I dabbled in E-major, C-major, and even a few minor keys. It was a lot more rushed and lazy, because I was too proud of the first one to want to top it. The first one has a few key changes too, but not so many.

Newly-set-up (by me, no less) electric sitar, you’re next. And you, funny-untranslatable Russian (or neighbouring country) zither. Which I just tuned last night.

Speaking of night….

P.S. If you want a copy of the stuff, just ask. I’m more than halfway there.

Written by envika

August 28, 2006 at 6:28 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

