Stoopid Sheep

baaaah

DayJams Rock Music Day Camp…

with one comment

…ended today. It was fun while it lasted. Yeah, I just revealed the name of the camp I went to. To the WordPress people, I’m in the higher age bracket so chill out with your COPPA compliance requirement (Wikipedia for those that don’t know what the COPPA is). To everyone else, I mostly just thought it was the world’s worst name for a camp and didn’t like to repeat it. The band this week, “Piglet and the Downsy,” was hella dysfunctional and hella fun. Some highlights of today:

  • I brought in the tape recorder to bootleg some rehearsals.
  • I cut almost every class that I was supposed to take because nothing matters on the last day except rehearsal and performance.
  • Noah the de facto frontman had a seizure a few hours before the concert. A real one.
  • Dylan the bass player went around telling all the little kids that they weren’t cool enough.
  • I communicate for about an hour by writing with a Sharpie on my old Social Studies notecards, until one certain very small band member gets annoyed and makes me talk for real.
  • Brian, the crazy metalhead guitarist from the first week, made a surprise visit and we thought it would be hilarious if he came on stage unannounced. So he learned the songs in about ten minutes and we came on stage with him using a terrible Epiphone SG (I usually like Epiphone’s guitars reasonably well, but this one was on the level of “overseas hobby-brand copy”).
  • In a totally unrehearsed move, the song I played on sped up into a frantic meltdown where I somehow kept the song sounding really, really, really tight.
  • I got home and did my usual computer thing until now, when I’m about to go to sleep.
  • I might go back for a week next year, but probably not.

click

Written by envika

July 27, 2007 at 10:46 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I wasn’t there, but I heard about the show from my peeps who were. I hear that you might try out for more bands…keep me posted! I’m an LA girl but I do come to NY for promotional things….who is this Stephani I keep reading about?

    jessica alba

    August 3, 2007 at 12:01 am


Leave a Reply

